East Bay Community Energy (EBCE) is now Ava Community Energy (Ava). New name, new look. Same clean energy, low rates, and local programs.

Learn More


Ava is a public agency based in Oakland with a staff of about 70, governed by a Board of local elected officials and advised by a Community Advisory Committee.

City of Emeryville Town Hall

Board of Directors

The Ava Community Energy Board of Directors is made up of an elected official from each of the participating jurisdictions and one representative (non-voting) from the Community Advisory Committee (CAC). Our Board meets once a month and all meetings are open to the public. Visit the Public Meetings page for more information about the Board’s meetings.

The Board sets rates and determines the mix of power sources. You can view a copy of the final Joint Powers Authority agreement here (PDF).

Ava’s Board of Directors' Subcommittees are:

  • Executive Committee meets monthly. Members of the Executive Committee are: Balch, Hu, Kalb, Márquez, Tiedemann
  • Marketing, Regulatory and Legislative Subcommittee meets every other month (even months). Members of the Subcommittee are: Barrientos, Bartlett, Jorgens, Patiño, Roche (Chair), and Wright.
  • Financial, Administrative and Procurement Subcommittee meets every other month (even months). Members of the Subcommittee are: Andersen, Bedolla, Cox (Chair), Gonzalez and Kaur.
Jurisdiction Member Alternate
Alameda County Supervisor Elisa Márquez Supervisor Lena Tam
Albany Councilmember Aaron Tiedemann (Vice Chair) Vice Mayor Robin López
Berkeley Vice Mayor Ben Bartlett Councilmember Terry Taplin
Dublin Vice Mayor Sherry Hu Councilmember Kashef Qaadri
Emeryville Councilmember Sukhdeep Kaur Councilmember John Bauters
Fremont Councilmember Teresa Cox Mayor Lily Mei
Hayward Councilmember Julie Roche Councilmember Daniel Goldstein
Lathrop Vice Mayor Minnie Diallo Councilmember Jennifer Torres-O'Callaghan
Livermore Councilmember Ben Barrientos Councilmember Evan Branning
Newark Councilmember Matthew Jorgens Mayor Mike Hannon
Oakland Councilmember Dan Kalb Vice Mayor Rebecca Kaplan
Piedmont Vice Mayor Betsy Andersen Councilmember Tom Ramsey
Pleasanton Councilmember Jack Balch (Chair) Councilmember Jeff Nibert
San Leandro Mayor Juan González III Vice Mayor Fred Simon
Stockton Councilmember Dan Wright Vice Mayor Kimberly Warmsley
Tracy Councilmember Mateo Bedolla Councilmember Dan Arriola
Union City Councilmember Jaime Patiño Councilmember Scott Sakakihara
Community Advisory Committee (non-voting) Ed Hernandez, Chair Lorraine Souza, Vice Chair

Community Advisory Committee

The Community Advisory Committee (CAC) consists of twelve members (ten appointed by the Board of Directors to represent five service area regions, and two At Large members appointed by the Alameda County Mayors' Conference) plus five Alternates. The committee acts as a liaison between key stakeholders and our Board, holding public committee meetings on a regular basis. Visit the Public Meetings page for more information about CAC meetings.

About the Community Advisory Committee

The Community Advisory Committee was formed in 2016 as part of the Ava Community Energy Joint Powers Authority and appointed by the Board of Directors to advise the Board on all subjects related to the operations of the Community Choice Aggregation program. The CAC gives the community a voice in its choice for electricity services, clean energy resource investments, and local energy projects.

Ava strives to ensure a diversity of members and alternates based on location, population, work experience, and community interest.

Click to see the Community Advisory Committee Work Plan (PDF)

Name Region Appointment City of Residence
Cynthia Landry North Member Oakland
Lisa Hu North Member Oakland
Indira Balkissoon North Member Piedmont
Peter Weiner North Alternate Member Berkeley
Pete Stephenson East Member Livermore
Jill Gile East Alternate Member Livermore
Vijay Lakshman South Member Fremont
Shiva Swaminathan South Member Fremont
Ernesto Pacheco Central Member Hayward
Lorraine "Mickey" Souza, Vice Chair Central Member Hayward
Rachel DiFranco Central Alternate Member Cherryland - Unicorporated Alameda County
Harman Ratia San Joaquin County Member Tracy
Davis Harper San Joaquin County Member Stockton
Jim Lutz At Large Member Oakland
Ed Hernandez, Chair At Large Member San Leandro